Kwiatkowski was part of the Ineos team that helped Egan Bernal to final overall victory at the Tour. MichalKwiatkowski has had a more subdued 2019 campaign. The 29-year-old has yet to rack up a victory this season, though he rode well to finish third at Paris-Nice and Milan-San Remo in March.

“I’m not a guy who likes to change his plans but unfortunately this is one of those moments. As much as I love Tour de Pologne and cherish memories from last year, I will not participate in this year’s edition,” Kwiatkowski wrote in a personal message.

“I know now, straight after finishing Tour de France, that recovery is what my body was suggesting [to] me probably since a very long time. So far it wasn’t the season I was dreaming of and this is a good time for reflection and thinking about my preparation, combining heavy racing in 2018 and trying to step up from that in particular.”

The Tour de Pologne starts with a circuit race around Kraków on Saturday and ends a week later in Bukowina Tatrzańska.

Deixe um comentário